Rainy Days

15 Aug

So it’s a rainy Sunday and the man of the house is out with his buddies playing paint ball.  As girls are stuck at home as one of our kiddie car seats is sitting in the bath after getting wee scrubbed out of it yesterday :S  So what do you do….?  We got out the ‘crafting box’…a box filled with all the girls clue, sparkles, paints etc and they are making a magnificent mess and some beautiful creations.

I’m in the kitchen trying to create a tasty and healthy ‘snack bar’, otherwise know as a Muesli Bar for snack time & lunches.  I have adjusted a recipe that I pinched out of a magazine somewhere…and when I saw adjusted I mean butchered.  I have only half the ingredients needed so I have thrown in whatever I had in the pantry.  I wont be able to finish the job…because I haven’t got a substitute for the honey.

3 hours later….

Well, it tastes good, the toasted Muesli that is.  As far as making the bars…I’m still waiting on the honey.

The girls like it so far.  For lunch I sprinkled some on their yogurt.  We also decided that it would be good for the school lunch box.  I will have to make a special mix for the school as I have put Macadamia Nuts in this mix and they might not be so ‘peanut free zone’ friendly.

If it works, I will share the recipe with you tomorrow.  Who knows, I may even post a photo too.

Leave a Reply

